Kent Lewis Classic checkers are career third for Schmidt

first_imgFeature results – 1. Trey Schmidt; 2. Rod Craddock; 3. John Ricketts; 4. Bobby Middleton; 5. Dustyn Welch; 6. Brandon Anderson; 7. Tyler Harris; 8. Thomas Johnson; 9. Theresa Waller; 10. Michael Oliver; 11. Kent Lewis Sr.; 12. Trey Burke; 13. Caleb Padgett; 14. Chris Hinson; 15. Mark Har­ris; 16. Derek Begnaud; 17. Jacob Harris; 18, Daniel King; 19. Cody Hall; 20. Kent Lewis Jr. Craddock and John Ricketts chased Schmidt across the stripe.  Trey Schmidt won the Kent Lewis Classic main event for Southern United Sprints, on May 26 at Golden Triangle Raceway Park. (Photo by Ron Skinner) The two tussled the next three times around the oval, with Schmidt regaining the lead and holding on for the win, his second of the season, despite hitting an infield tire.  He’d also won a pair of non-wing Lewis Classics. center_img “There are about three or four big events during the year that you always want to win,” said Schmidt, “and this is one of the biggest.”  After starting fourth and leading much of the way in the Sunday IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car show at Golden Triangle Raceway Park, Schmidt saw Rod Craddock slip by on the inside and take away the front spot. BEAUMONT, Texas (May 26) – Trey Schmidt added a third Kent Lewis Classic trophy to his collec­tion, following a Memorial Weekend Southern United Sprint feature that was probably a little more exciting than he would have liked.last_img read more

Falconets Lash Tanzanites 6-0, Move to Next Round Â

first_imgA brace each by Rasheedat Ajibade and Folashade Ijamilusi and a goal each by Imo Anam and Cynthia Aku steered the Nigeria Under-20 women team to a 6-0 win over their Tanzanian counterparts in Dar es Salaam yesterday. First half ended 4-0 in favour of the Falconets at the Azam Stadium. The win took the Falconets to a 9-0 aggregate win over the East Africans, and a place in the second round of the African qualifying series for next year’s FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup finals. Ajibade also netted a brace in the first leg at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City a fortnight ago, with the other goal by defender Lilian Tule. The two-time World Cup silver medallists will now square up against the winner of the fixture between Morocco and Senegal in the second round, set for November 2017. Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img read more